Friday, December 16, 2011

Sebastian Vettel - 2011 F1 Champion collects his trophy...

Sebastian Vettel collected the Formula 1 world champion’s trophy for a second straight year on December 9th, 2011 at the FIA Prize Giving Gala in New Delhi’s Kingdom of Dreams.

Sebastian Vettel with his F1 World Champion Trophy in New Delhi

The Red Bull driver collected the coveted World Champion trophy from FIA president Jean Todt, while team principal Christian Horner was presented with the 2011 Constructors' Trophy by Bernie Ecclestone.

Jenson Button and Mark Webber also received awards for second and third place finishes, respectively in the Drivers' Championship.

"It's great to be here in India at the FIA Gala to collect my second Drivers' Championship Trophy," said Vettel.

"I have had the trophy in my house all year and didn't want to give it back, so this means a great deal to me. It's hard to put into words how it feels to win again; the team stayed focused and made few mistakes and I would like to thank them for all their impressive efforts.

"I would also like to thank Renault who worked so hard all year. The history of Formula One means a lot to me and it's special to know that we are now somehow a part of that," he added.

Formula 1 Champion Sebastian Vettel with World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb 

Vettel famously never led the 2010 Championship until the last day of the season. In 2011, he led from the first day to the last and along the way, scored victories in Australia, Malaysia, Turkey, Spain and Monaco, at the European Grand Prix in Valencia, in Belgium, Italy, Singapore, Korea and India. He only finished off the podium twice during the 19 races, took a record-breaking 15 pole positions and three fastest laps.  Also, in India he became the youngest man to record a grand chelem: taking pole, victory, fastest lap and leading every lap of the race.

The 2011 FIA Formula World Champions in the podium - (L to R in podium) Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber 

Some success news for the Indian Grand Prix hosts too.. 

Sameer Gaur of Jaypee Sports International (JPSI) received the Formula One Promotional Trophy for hosting a successful inaugural Indian Grand Prix at a glittering FIA Awards Gala ceremony on Friday.

Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone presents a trophy to Sameer Gaur, CEO and managing director of JPSI Sports, builders of the Buddh International Circuit
Photo Credit:  by Parivartan Sharma/pool/AFP/Getty Images

Jaypee Sports International (JPSI) managing director Sameer Gaur, the Indian Grand Prix promoters, received the Promotional Trophy for their efforts in hosting a new race on the F1 calendar.
Korea was awarded the same trophy for hosting the first race last year and so did Abu Dhabi for 2009.

"This is indeed a very proud moment and I am honoured to receive this FIA award on behalf of my entire team and everyone whose support was indispensable in ensuring the resounding success of the first even Indian Grand Prix," Sameer said after receiving the award.
"These compliments give us strength and will definitely inspire us to take ensuing events to new heights."

Buddh International Circuit (BIC), which hosted the Indian Grand Prix was awarded the 'Motorsport Facility of the Year' award at the Professional Motorsport World Expo 2011 Awards held in Cologne, Germany recently.

It was also awarded 'Best Motorsport Facility' by CNBC Overdrive. Also, Sameer was named TopGear 'Man of the Year' by BBC and 'Man of the Year' by Man's World Magazine for his efforts to make the first ever Formula 1 Grand Prix in India such a success.

  RedBull Racing driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany with his F1 World Championship trophy

Best Wishes for Sebastian Vettel for 2012 Formula One Season

Photo Credit: Reuters and Getty Images

Share this post with your friends....


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...