Sunday, February 27, 2011

Tennis Terracotta Warriors

The 2007 Tennis Master Cup event in Shanghai had a unique promotional event... The idea was to create a series of Tennis Terracotta Warriors sculptures of the then top eight ATP ranked players qualified to play the tournament.

The eight Tennis Terracotta Warriors created in 2007 were of:
Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Roddick
Nikolay Davydenko, Richard Gasquet, Fernando Gonzalez and David Ferrer

The final image of Tennis Terracotta Warriors released by the ATP of the 8 "best of the best" tennis players in the world

The ATP had commissioned French sculptor Laury Dizengremel to create terracotta models of eight top tennis players in the style of the ancient Chinese Terracotta Army.

French sculptor Laury Dizengremel working on Roger Federer's sculpture

Roger Federer admiring his Terracotta Warrior sculpture

Rafael Nadal with his Tennis Terracotta Warrior sculpture

 The cover of Tennis Magazine in China featured the Tennis Terracotta Warriors created for the Masters cup at Shanghai in 2007

Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic - The top 3 Ternnis Terracotta Warrior scupltures

The eight Tennis Terracotta warriors at the Tank Loft Contemporary Arts Center in Chongqing 
Photo credit: David McBride

Photos credit: ATP and

All the eight terracotta warrior sculptures are currently kept in the Wimbledon museum.
It is learnt that five new terracotta warriors will soon become a permanent fixture at the Shanghai Qi Zhong Tennis Center.

Share this post with your friends....


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...